Stylish Everyday

Hello guys, Thank God it’s Monday- said no one ever! Hehehehehe…. How do we look today?IMG-20160208-WA0001-1-1[1]

The joy of dressing is an art- Joy Galliano

Fashion for me is not a trend, it is how you choose to look every day – To look smashing, breath taking or just there. Some people have decided to look just how they have seen that girl look yesterday or to recreate that magazine look. But one thing we have failed to consider is the figure on her body.

Whatever you choose to wear should be a replica of who you are. Never make the mistake of trying to wear what you see others wearing. Wear what you are comfortable on. Wear what defines you.

I remember one time I had seen a friend wearing a high waist skirt on a camisole and she had looked so beautiful and gorgeous in it. I said to myself, I am definitely rocking this too.

And trust me I did rock it. But guessed how someone described how I look? An overblown ballon! I felt like the earth should just swallow me up. But Really, I do not blame the person.
My friend is a slim tall girl who can pass with anything she wears. But for me, I had not consider my body type which as at then, I will not call slim and then my tummy was standing out like someone who had just finished eating 10 wraps of akpu. Ever since then, before I decide which clothe to wear I must have tried out series of clothes and make up my mind which to settle for.
I kept up with this until I came across an article Knowing your Body Type. And ever since, my fashion statement I must say, has improved.

QUICK TIPS:
 Avoid wearing clothes that don’t fit right! Too large, too small – it doesn’t really matter, the point is that both can and do look bad and, even worse, make you look bad! Don’t hide in the folds of your baggy outfit and don’t try to squeeze yourself into something just for the sake of being able to say “I’m a size so-and-so”. Your outfit needs to have shape and structure, it needs to show off your best parts, flatter your curves and be kind to your critical spots.
 Make sure the colours match. Do not because you have just purchase a new pair of shoe, bag and dress- you decide to wear it all at once irrespective of what colour they are. Please you are not a traffic light. Avoid too many bright colours that do not match. Playing up your outfit with a couple of carefully chosen pieces of jewelry is a definite DO and I really admire women who have a talent for mixing and matching and are always capable of pulling off a new trend perfectly. Over-doing it, however, is downright one of the worst fashion mistakes out there and probably something you’ll want to make sure to avoid, unless you really have a knack for keeping the Christmas spirit strong all year long. Wait…strike that… looking like a Christmas tree is never a good way… well… that’s pretty much it!
 Stop the belief that tall women shouldn’t wear heels. This mandate isn’t only silly, but a little sexist, too. Stemming from a whole bunch of antiquated notions including abundant height isn’t feminine, and a woman shouldn’t draw extra attention to herself, this rule is one- no woman should ever follow if they don’t want to. We know plenty of women who are six feet tall and still rock killer heel with grace- the likes of Michelle Obama and Omotola Jolade Ekeinde.
 Avoid shopping for Instagram. We hate to assume you’d buy anything simply so people know you own it, but such is the world in which we live. Are you buying that Balenciaga bag because you really, really love it, or because you want others to know you bought it? If you buy those Jimmy Choo pumps, will you be able to truly enjoy them without posting them to social media? If the answer is no, you might have some thinking to do about your shopping habits.
 Exposure doesn’t mean sexy! If you truly believe that sexy means dressing for stereotypical men—teeny-tiny skirts, skintight dresses, low-cut tops—you’re doing yourself (and your style) a giant disservice. Love your body and want to show it off? Great! Do it ways that are truly sexy, as opposed to flashy—tight jeans and a silky top, a long-sleeve mini-dress with ankle boots, or a great pair of heels paired with a curve-hugging pencil skirt.IMG-20160208-WA0000-1[1]
 Many will swear that they would never be caught dead wearing a sweatpant out. As recent sportif trends have showcased, a well-fitting pair of track pants can actually look very cool when paired with things like peep-toe booties or heels, and a structured blazer.

Stop trying to please people by what you wear. Create and recreate your own style. Many of what we see people wear is idea of their own which has been recreated by others. Learn to love and appreciate yourself, learn to be content with what you can afford, learn to wear what you are comfortable with and would make your head swoon when you admire yourself in the mirror- until we get to chat again, stay stylish lovers. And please I do not mind a few fashion tricks from you. xoxoxoxoxoxo

One thought on “Stylish Everyday

  1. Hmm m. I enjoyed every drop. Even though am a man, I found sense in everything. Except for the color matching. Color riot is fashion now. Apart from that, other tips are great. Omg! When u see some girls dress, you gotta close your eyes. WTF were they thinking? Lol
    Holla from BESTNAIJA.COM

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

